Abyssmedia.com Forum Index Abyssmedia.com
Abyssmedia Support Forums
 
  FAQ    Search    Memberlist    Usergroups   Register 
  Profile    Log in to check your private messages    Log in 

Invalid parameter to SHIFT command

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Abyssmedia.com Forum Index -> Quick Batch File Compiler
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
chribonn



Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 2:04 pm    Post subject: Invalid parameter to SHIFT command Reply with quote

Hi,

I am trying to run a compiled batch file (containing included files) under Windows 2003 Server. The first line after the command is the error above.

Is this related to QBC?

Thanks,
Al
Back to top
chribonn



Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 2:25 pm    Post subject: It seems to be QBC Reply with quote

I ran the same command file both as EXE and as CMD and it seems that the problem is QBC. Below are the two scripts:

Code:
C:\Program Files\TestBk>TestBackup.exe "D:\Directory" 12345M
Invalid parameter to SHIFT command
C:\Program Files\TestBk>TITLE Test Backup
C:\Program Files\TestBk>SETLOCAL
C:\Program Files\TestBk>IF NOT Windows_NT == Windows_NT GOTO :EOF
C:\Program Files\TestBk>SET rm_Version=1.1.3.0
C:\Program Files\TestBk>REM Set HOMEPATH values
C:\Program Files\TestBk>SET HOMEDRIVE=C:
C:\Program Files\TestBk>SET HOMEPATH=Program Files\TestBk
C:\Program Files\TestBk>REM Backup Directory
C:\Program Files\TestBk>IF [TestBackup.exe] == [] GOTO Help


--------------------
Code:
C:\Program Files\TestBk>TestBackup.cmd "D:\Directory" 12345M
C:\Program Files\TestBk>TITLE Test Backup
C:\Program Files\TestBk>SETLOCAL
C:\Program Files\TestBk>IF NOT Windows_NT == Windows_NT GOTO :EOF
C:\Program Files\TestBk>SET rm_Version=1.1.3.0
C:\Program Files\TestBk>REM Set HOMEPATH values
C:\Program Files\TestBk>SET HOMEDRIVE=C:
C:\Program Files\TestBk>SET HOMEPATH=Program Files\TestBk
C:\Program Files\TestBk>REM Backup Directory
C:\Program Files\TestBk>IF ["D:\Directory"] == [] GOTO Help


If you look at the list line of each script you will notice that it has shifted.

Any help at solving this problem would be greatly appreciated.

Regards,
Al
Back to top
chribonn



Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Sat Mar 03, 2007 4:00 pm    Post subject: The Problem Reply with quote

I'm still trying to shed light on the problem and create a way to reproduce the error.

I created this simple CMD file which I compiled using QBC.

ECHO %0
ECHO %1
ECHO %2
ECHO %3

Runing it under Windows XP returns

D:\Temp>test 12345
D:\Temp>ECHO test
test
D:\Temp>ECHO 12345
12345
D:\Temp>ECHO
ECHO is on.
D:\Temp>ECHO
ECHO is on.

while running it under Windows 2003 gives

C:\Temp>test.exe 12345
Invalid parameter to SHIFT command
C:\Temp>ECHO C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\bt3037.bat
C:\DOCUME~1\ADMINI~1\LOCALS~1\Temp\bt3037.bat
C:\Temp>ECHO test.exe
test.exe
C:\Temp>ECHO 12345
12345
C:\Temp>ECHO
ECHO is on.
C:\Temp>

Hope this helps.
Back to top
DJX



Joined: 04 Jan 2007
Posts: 12
Location: Cleveland, Ohio

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I already started a post about this:

http://www.abyssmedia.com/forum/windows-server-2003-compatibility-or-program-oversight-t66.html

It's a compiler issue but it still happens even when I compile it under Win2K3.
Back to top
chribonn



Joined: 06 Feb 2007
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Tue Mar 06, 2007 2:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It also applies to QBFC 2.1.6.0.

The posting incorrectly states that your program works fine. This should be changed to "it works fine as long as you do not use parameters".

Regards,
Al
Back to top
support
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Wed Jul 18, 2007 3:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Already fixed in v2.5
Back to top
MaciekB



Joined: 07 Aug 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Tue Aug 07, 2007 12:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

support wrote:
Already fixed in v2.5


Where can I download this version ?
I really need new version without "Invalid parameter to SHIFT command"
error.
Back to top
support
Site Admin


Joined: 13 Feb 2004
Posts: 378

PostPosted: Wed Aug 08, 2007 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

MaciekB wrote:
support wrote:
Already fixed in v2.5


Where can I download this version ?
I really need new version without "Invalid parameter to SHIFT command"
error.


Please check PM.
Back to top
OmegaZero



Joined: 09 Aug 2007
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Thu Aug 09, 2007 9:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I also need the new version to fix this error. I have sent an email to support also - no response yet...

EDIT: Oddly enough, I received a reply while I was posting this. Thanks! Very Happy
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Abyssmedia.com Forum Index -> Quick Batch File Compiler All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001-2011 phpBB Group