Poor sound quality in recording - Streaming audio sounds awful in MP3

Sound recording software. Support MP3, WMA, WAV, OGG and APE formats
Post Reply
seaside241
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:29 pm

Post by seaside241 » Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:59 pm

Have changed bit rate from 16 to 96 to 256, and project rate from 44000 to 48000, and it makes no difference.

A perfectly clear 16-bit audio stream from Windows Media Player sound like someone shouting down a well in the MP3 conversion performed by i-Sound. It's painful to hear.

Has anyone else had this problem and solved it?

Thanks for your help!

Oleg Tsheglov
Site Admin
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 5:55 pm
Contact:

Post by Oleg Tsheglov » Wed Oct 12, 2005 11:10 pm

What's sound card installed in your PC? What's i-Sound Version?

seaside241
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:29 pm

Post by seaside241 » Thu Oct 13, 2005 4:03 am

As far as I've been able to determine, the sound card in my PC is an MPU-401 compatible midi device; manufactured by Microsoft and located on ESS Allegro PCJ Audio.

My test recordings had been made through Total Recorder.

After determining this, I shifted all the information in my audio and sound properties, for both PC and i-Sound, to play through ESS Allegro and did more tests.

The sound is still very bad, though the quality is noticeably better at 256 bit rate than 96 or 16. The test recordings are all unusable.

More suggestions welcome. I'd like to get this sorted out. Thanks for your help!

Oleg Tsheglov
Site Admin
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 5:55 pm
Contact:

Post by Oleg Tsheglov » Thu Oct 13, 2005 2:55 pm

1. Please update sound card's driver from http://www.esstech.com/techsupp/drivers.shtm#pci
2. Do you have this problem only with MP3 format? Please try WMA, WAV formats too.
3. Can you send me a small test record to support@abyssmedia.com



Edited By Oleg Tsheglov on 1129215442

seaside241
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 6:29 pm

Post by seaside241 » Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:20 pm

I went to the site and downloaded the sound card update, but I'm not sure what to do with it. Once I unzipped it, there were about 8 icons to click. Not sure where to go from here.

Will send small test to you.

Thanks for your help with resolving this issue.

Oleg Tsheglov
Site Admin
Posts: 309
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 5:55 pm
Contact:

Post by Oleg Tsheglov » Sun Oct 16, 2005 12:21 am

Just open Control panel->Performance and Maintenance->System and select "System"
Now select "Harware->Device Manager" and select your sound card. Now you can select "Update Driver" and set path for new driver to your unzipped files...

bobgc
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:17 am

Poor sound quality recording streaming audio to MP#

Post by bobgc » Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:27 am

I am having the very same problem. My sound card is Creative Sound Blaster PCI. I would sure like to find a fix.

support
Site Admin
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 1:05 pm

Post by support » Mon Oct 29, 2007 7:08 am

Please check recording level - it should be 70% by VU-meter

bobgc
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:17 am

Post by bobgc » Tue Oct 30, 2007 1:24 am

How do I set the recording level ? I can't find a control to do that.

bobgc
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:17 am

VU control floats to the right when record started

Post by bobgc » Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:30 am

It floats apparently with the other control to the left (the timer) .

Maybe I can get a software update. How do I do that ?

support
Site Admin
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 1:05 pm

Post by support » Thu Nov 01, 2007 8:40 pm

Take a look on the slider with "Volume" hint on the main window.

P.S. Latest version 6.72 available from this site.

bobgc
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:17 am

poor record quality

Post by bobgc » Thu Nov 01, 2007 9:09 pm

I can't control the slider. I moves from left to right while recording. Both sliders move by themselves. I am at the 6.72 release.

support
Site Admin
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 1:05 pm

Post by support » Sat Nov 03, 2007 7:25 am

Is it possible that you have activated AGC?

bobgc
Posts: 5
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2007 12:17 am

Post by bobgc » Sat Nov 10, 2007 3:38 pm

Yes AGC mode Normal was set. I will turn it off and try recording.

support
Site Admin
Posts: 396
Joined: Fri Feb 13, 2004 1:05 pm

Post by support » Mon Nov 12, 2007 10:45 pm

AGC will try to set the optimal recording level. If it move sliders to the left, but recording level still very high then you need to decrease playback level too.

Post Reply